Support Forum

Ask questions and get help from MobileTogether experts.
MobileTogether Product Information
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
jwatt222  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 19, 2017 6:53:42 AM(UTC)
jwatt222

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/23/2016(UTC)
Posts: 60
United States
Location: Virginia

Thanks: 10 times
I have someone who is loading this on my server: Unknown Full Android on Emulator ( Android 4.1.1 )

Each Time it is loaded they grab a newer version of my App. For example they started with version 10, then 12, and now they have grabbed 14. Currently I am on 16.

What can I do to stop or block this?
AFC  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 20, 2017 7:10:20 AM(UTC)
AFC

Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Joined: 9/15/2014(UTC)
Posts: 34
Austria

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Can you explain a bit more please?

What do you mean with "loading this on my server: Unknown Full Android on Emulator ( Android 4.1.1 )"?
Is there any file loaded on the server? Is it "loaded" to the server?
Where do you see this text? Can you send a screenshot maybe?

And what means "grab a newer version of my App"? How can somebody download your App (= apk file) from your server?

Or do you simply speak about user licenses? If yes, can it be that you compile new versions of your app and start them from Android Studio emulator?
jwatt222  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 20, 2017 7:29:30 AM(UTC)
jwatt222

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/23/2016(UTC)
Posts: 60
United States
Location: Virginia

Thanks: 10 times
Or do you simply speak about user licenses? Yes see attached file.
The app is not in developement but the emulator is showing up as if it is analyzing the app by grabbing licenses for each of the previous versions of the App.
I deleted the first one that grabbed version 10 but just unchecked the three shown in an attempt to make them inactive hoping that it blocked them from loading it again.
jwatt222 attached the following image(s):
server.GIF
jwatt222  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 20, 2017 8:00:37 AM(UTC)
jwatt222

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/23/2016(UTC)
Posts: 60
United States
Location: Virginia

Thanks: 10 times
By The Way. When I sign the Apks and build on Android Studio I use my HTC Desire which you can see on License number 247. I never use the emulator.
AFC  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 20, 2017 2:20:23 PM(UTC)
AFC

Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Joined: 9/15/2014(UTC)
Posts: 34
Austria

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
If it's not you, then somebody external seems to use the emulator to start your apks.
If he uses different AVDs, it's always a new device and he will always get a new license as long as you are in License Mode "Auto".

Maybe you can find out from which IP address these requests come and block that from a firewall?

BTW for interest: What's the problem with those licenses? It's nothing else as when somebody would install different versions of your apk on different devices.
jwatt222  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 20, 2017 4:41:52 PM(UTC)
jwatt222

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/23/2016(UTC)
Posts: 60
United States
Location: Virginia

Thanks: 10 times
I'm concerned that someone is trying to get the code because they are not just opening the current version but seem to be able to open even the older versions one at a time.

Could you help with how I might find the IP address? I prefer to block whoever this is and need to do it before they catch up to the current version.
AFC  
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 21, 2017 8:01:53 AM(UTC)
AFC

Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Joined: 9/15/2014(UTC)
Posts: 34
Austria

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
You can look in your Firewall, who has accessed your server at the given time (in case your Firewall supports this kind of logging and it’s enabled).

For future attempts, you can use a tool to capture the network traffic (like e.g. Wireshark).

But both will not help, if the IP address is changed.


Altova MobileTogether Experts
thanks 1 user thanked AFC for this useful post.
jwatt222 on 9/21/2017(UTC)
jwatt222  
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 21, 2017 8:48:52 AM(UTC)
jwatt222

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/23/2016(UTC)
Posts: 60
United States
Location: Virginia

Thanks: 10 times
Thanks Much.
jwatt222  
#9 Posted : Friday, November 24, 2017 2:31:18 AM(UTC)
jwatt222

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/23/2016(UTC)
Posts: 60
United States
Location: Virginia

Thanks: 10 times
Just to Follow up.
I am now on version 20 of my app and I did like you said and started monitoring the firewall.
The user returned today and I had to spend my Thanksgiving dealing with him. He got version 14 and I identified and blocked his IP Range.
He returned with a different IP and got version 20. I then blocked that IP Range. But he up to date with me now.

I have sent out a letter to Abuse@Amazon.aws who owns the IP with all the details and support in hopes that they will identify who it is and shut him down. At least now Thanks to you I have the details to pursue him legally. Any more info would be appreciated.

Thanks,
AFC  
#10 Posted : Friday, November 24, 2017 9:12:49 AM(UTC)
AFC

Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Joined: 9/15/2014(UTC)
Posts: 34
Austria

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Hello jwatt222,

regarding
Quote:
Any more info would be appreciated.

and
Quote:
Could you help with how I might find the IP address?


MobileTogether Server 4.0 now directly shows the IP addresses of the clients, also see User Licenses.

BTW: do these requests come shortly after uploading the apps to the AppStore? Or randomly?


Altova MobileTogether Experts
jwatt222  
#11 Posted : Friday, November 24, 2017 10:48:41 AM(UTC)
jwatt222

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/23/2016(UTC)
Posts: 60
United States
Location: Virginia

Thanks: 10 times
Outstanding! Thanks, I will get updated to server 4.0.
Users browsing this topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.