Support Forum

Ask questions and get help from MobileTogether experts.
MobileTogether Product Information
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
andy wilde  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 2:29:26 PM(UTC)
andy wilde

Groups: Registered
United Kingdom

I am new to the Mobile together platform and I'm currently evaluating the product.

My requirement is gather data from remote workers who will often have no data connection.

Do you have a worked example where the data is stsored locally on the device until there is a data connection and is then transmited to the server for permanent storage in a database?
bbv  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 4:16:31 PM(UTC)
bbv

Groups: Registered, Administrators

Was thanked: 80 time(s) in 80 post(s)
Yes, this is very easy:

* You have to declare your Project with Server Access "on demand" (under Styles & Properties)
* If you have any trees which are loaded from server, you need to mark them as "Load not automatically"

This is all. I'm attaching here three mini-solutions and an accompanying SQLite database.

Solution "NewAddress" collects new user data. Note, that I'm using the $PERSISTENT tree for this - if user has to interrupt his work and close the app, he can restart the app at any time - his interim data will persist on his device. You can try it in Designer - start simulation, enter partial data, close simulation (without closing the design) and start again - you can continue with the data entry. During the data entry itself there is no contact to the server. Only if user clicks "Add to the database now" the app will contact server to transfer data - I've used a DB Execute action with an INSERT statement for this (note, there are different possibilities to save data in the DB). Then I erase data on client to prepare for the next entry.